Onsale Times

TSO presents

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Víkingur Ólafsson, piano

Eliot Britton: Celebration Prelude (World Premiere/TSO Commission)
Daníel Bjarnason: Trilogy for Orchestra: Part I (World Première/TSO Centennial Co-commission)
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 24, K. 491
Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

An artist’s love-fueled daydream morphs into a hellish, psychedelic nightmare in Berlioz’s mind-bending masterpiece, Symphonie fantastique—shocking, visionary, and unprecedented when premiered in 1830, and still the wildest ride in classical music. Discover some of the most inventive voices of today when Gustavo Gimeno leads the music of Icelandic composer Daniel Bjarnason (“eerily close to defining classical music’s undefinable brave new world” — Time Out New York) and Toronto-based composer Eliot Britton. And, the “breathtakingly brilliant” (Gramophone) Víkingur Ólafsson shines in Mozart’s eloquent and sublime Piano Concerto No. 24.