Onsale Times

TSO presents

Tarmo Peltokoski, conductor
Jonathan Crow, violin

Kaija Saariaho: Ciel d'hiver
Brahms: Violin Concerto
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5

After Shostakovich’s music was publicly denounced for failing to conform to the Soviet ideal, his Fifth Symphony was a work on which his life depended—literally. The monumental creation he produced was a crashing success, appeasing the establishment, thrilling audiences, and crackling with covert defiance. Finnish conducting prodigy Tarmo Peltokoski draws out every nuance of this all-time-great masterpiece in his Canadian debut, and Concertmaster Jonathan Crow performs a towering cornerstone of the repertoire in Brahms’s luminous Violin Concerto.