Onsale Times

TSO presents

Maxim Emelyanychev, conductor
Eric Abramovitz, clarinet
Miles Jaques, basset horn

Mendelssohn: Concert Piece No. 2
Anna Clyne: Within Her Arms
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 5 “Reformation”

Composed to honour the 300th anniversary of the Augsburg Confession, a major event in the Protestant Reformation, Mendelssohn’s magnificent “Reformation” Symphony is sprinkled with the delicate, dance-like melodies with which the composer would come to be synonymous, and ends in a rousing chorale on Martin Luther’s beloved hymn, “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God”. Charismatic young Russian conductor Maxim Emelyanychev makes his TSO début in this program, which also features TSO clarinetists Eric Abramovitz and Miles Jaques in the sunny Concert Piece No. 2. Originally written as a memorial, Anna Clyne’s Within Her Arms captures a powerful meditation on loss—an elegy for strings that is at once mournful and full of hope.