Onsale Times

TSO presents

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Barbara Hannigan, soprano

Julia Mermelstein: Celebration Prelude (World Première/TSO Commission)
Zosha Di Castri: New Work for Soprano and Orchestra (World Première/TSO Commission)
Stravinsky: The Firebird (complete ballet, 1910)

Fairy-tale magic springs from every moment of Stravinsky’s The Firebird, from the spine-tingling opening to the pounding “Infernal Dance” to the glittering finale. Experience the full colour and splendour of this beloved masterpiece when Music Director Gustavo Gimeno and the TSO perform the ballet score in its entirety. Back-to-back World Premières from Canadian composers begin the concert: first, a prelude by Julia Mermelstein, written in celebration of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra’s 100th season; then, music of “riotously inventive” (The New Yorker) composer Zosha Di Castri, featuring incomparable Canadian soprano and contemporary-music icon Barbara Hannigan.